Freaky Friday

Happy Friday, Friends!
(We warned you about the alliteration…)

In the beginning stages of what is now Perfectly Ridiculous, many brainstorming meetings were had over what the content should look like. Once we hit the topic of alliteration, we ran with it. When it came to Friday, it quickly became one of the hardest to nail down. Fitness, food, family, and fashion – just a few of our ideas… So, Fridays are a little bit of a “free for all,” and will change depending on who’s writing each post – which, I think, adds excitement and is a good picture of what we wanted this blog to be in the first place.

So then, what is this week’s Friday content, you ask?
Freaky Friday.

Most of us know that “freaky Friday” refers to two people switching places, which often leads to (and should lead to) a change in perspective.
So, here we go – If you could switch places with anyone, who would it be, and why?

If I’m going to be completely honest – which I am, trust me – the answer that first comes to mind is Anna from the new Disney movie Frozen. Some of you, if not most of you, are probably laughing – if not because you already knew that was coming, then because you think I’m a little crazy or childish… But it’s the truth! She has red hair, is a princess, loves snow and winter, sings, and has a snowman for a best friend. Basically, she’s me in cartoon form (Yes, I already have the whole soundtrack memorized).

I don’t want to give the movie away, because I definitely recommend that you go see it as soon as you’re done reading this post – it’s that good. But, I think there are a few lessons we can take away from the story.

1. Trust
I relate to Anna and how trusting she is. She’s bubbly and just excited about the little things – which are big things to her (“Who knew we owned 8000 salad plates?!”). She sees the best in people (sometimes to a fault) and believes in them even when they don’t believe in themselves. I sure want to be more like that. It might take a couple tries at learning who to trust and not to trust, but ultimately, life is so much fuller and happier when you finally figure it out. Trust me.

2. Self-Acceptance
Another big part of the movie is based around Anna’s older sister Elsa and her quest to be free to be herself. She has a magical power that holds her back for most of her life because she’s scared of hurting people. As much as I relate to Anna, I can also relate to Elsa’s fear. She is trying to protect her sister and her kingdom, but by doing so, she lets fear consume her. We have to “let go” of the fear (See what I did there?), and realize that love is the remedy to fear.

3. Singing helps anything
Seriously. It really does. Try singing “Do You Want To Build A Snowman?” and tell me it doesn’t make you feel better.

I’m a little biased towards sisters, so I love that this story is centered around a sibling relationship and the bond between sisters. I won’t give away the ending, but true love always wins in the end (“The only fixer upper fixer that can fix a fixer upper is true love…”).

So there you have it.
I bet you’re all racing over to Spotify, iTunes, or Youtube to listen to the soundtrack as we speak. It’s okay. I won’t judge.

Happy Friday!

K

P.S. Just thought you should know that I made it all the way through without any Rebecca Black references… #success

