Make Hay Monday

Many of us have heard the phrase, “make haste.”
But fewer of us have probably heard the phrase, “make hay.”

“Make hay” comes from the proverb, “Make hay while the sun shines,” which originated from John Heywood in 1546.

While “make haste” means to act quickly, or to be eager to act; to hurry – “make hay” has a few meanings along the same lines.

Make Hay:

  • To turn to one’s advantage
  • Make the most of one’s opportunities while you have the chance
  • Take advantage of an opportunity as soon as it arises and do not waste time
  • Do something while you have the time to do it

Basically, if we are looking at this proverb from a modern standpoint, it is saying that we need to get things done before we can’t do it anymore – either because we missed the opportunity, or because it’s too late. This can be in a literal sense, like homework assignments or work deadlines, or in a figurative sense, such as opportunities regarding our dreams and desires.

Here are a few ways to “Make Hay” in some different situations:

– Instead of running to Starbucks during that break between classes, why not work on homework in the library, study in your car, or get to your next class early and take advantage of the empty, quiet classroom.
– Real life example from Kylie: I like to try to get to work/school early to get a good parking spot because the campus parking lot fills up fast. I try to get there an hour early and use that hour as my quiet time in my car. Simple.
– Get up early! Run, work out, read, or write. Work on your dreams in the morning before your day can get in your way. In his book Quitter, Jon Acuff says that the morning is the best time to hustle because, “The excuses haven’t really woken up yet… You can beat your fears to task and get an hour or two of dream time before your obstacles even know what happened” (Quitter, p. 144). No more excuses!
– Take risks. It is important to pray, stay accountable, and seek Godly advice, but we need to learn to trust more. I know that, at least for me, we can get caught up over-analyzing everything. So often, we miss opportunities because we took too long just thinking about it. There are times when we have to plan ahead and stop procrastinating, and then there are times when we just have to jump.

Now, don’t you worry – I’m reminding myself of these tips, too. At 6:00 in the morning, my bed is MUCH more appealing than going for a run or getting up to write – BUT, what if I miss an opportunity by sleeping right through it? I want to make the most of each opportunity while they are right in front of me. I don’t want to look back and see that I didn’t take advantage while I had the time to do something.

I don’t know about you, but I’m sick of wasting time.
So here’s to “making hay.”

K

