Fashion Friday

Image

Now those of you who know me (Chelsea), like REALLY know me, know that just a few years ago my closet consisted solely of basketball shorts, t-shirts, hoodies and jeans (Man, those were the days). So you are probably a bit surprised to see that I’m the one writing about fashion. Well people change, and I’ve come a long way since then (Working at a nice clothing store/trying to dress like someone’s girlfriend were key factors). I now feel like I’ve reached a place where I can give fashion advice, and I have two nuggets of wisdom for you all today:

1)      Leggings are NOT pants.

I repeat, leggings are not pants. If they were, they would be spelled p-a-n-t-s. But they’re not—as much as we would sometimes like them to be. However, long shirts are a saving grace, and we should thank Forever21 for making them by the millions so we can go out in public in our favorite studded, printed, faux-leather and bedazzled leggings. #beautynotbooty

2)      The phrase “Dress for Success” applies to more than just clothing.

Let me explain this one with a story.

Once upon a time two weeks ago, I made the decision on my way home from church to go for a run on one of the rare sunny afternoons we had. I had been up early that morning and was tired already. I really wanted a nap, but was determined not to let myself skip out on a run when it was so nice outside. When I got home, I faced a decision. A) go to the closet and get out my running shoes or B) put on the pajama pants laying on my bed and get comfortable and “rest” before my run. Well, shocker, I choose B and was asleep on the couch twenty minutes later. I woke up disappointed with myself and my decision, because I know that if I had picked A, I would have accomplished what I had planned.

I obviously did not dress for success in this instance. But it did make me think. I realized that just like I had the choice to put on slippers instead of running shoes, I also have the choice every day to put on thankfulness instead of negativity, kindness instead of selfishness, or hope instead of fear. It’s not always easy to put on things that are going to help you—and the people around you—to live a more successful life, because things happen: you get tired, you get in a car accident, you’re not sure if you’ll have enough money to pay rent, you or a family member gets sick or nothing seems to be going your way. When it gets hard, that’s when you have to decide what you’re going to put on. It’s not always easy, but dressing for success is half the battle.

Therefore put on the full armor of God, so that when the day of evil comes, you may be able to stand your ground, and after you have done everything, to stand. Stand firm then, with the belt of truth buckled around your waist, with the breastplate of righteousness in place, and with your feet fitted with the readiness that comes from the gospel of peace. In addition to all this, take up the shield of faith, with which you can extinguish all the flaming arrows of the evil one. Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God. (Eph. 6:13-17, NIV)

C

