Happy Mother’s Day!

Our moms are some of the most important people in our lives. We wanted to take a minute (or however long it takes to read this post) to honor them and let them see just how much they mean to us. So, in true Perfectly Ridiculous style, here’s a Q&A on our moms!

What is one thing your mom taught you that you still remember to this day?
A – My mom really taught me and my brothers to persevere. No matter what hardship I was facing – failing out of school, breaking up with a boyfriend, or losing a best friend, my mom stood by me and told me to hold on. She made sure that we understood that life was going to be full of terrible situations and the only way through them is to pray and keep your head up even if it’s something you brought upon yourself.
C – My mom taught me how to spin a basketball on my finger, bounce it off my elbow into the air and then keep it spinning again. Yep. My mom is awesome.
K – One of my favorite things my mom taught me is, “Don’t be afraid to tell God what you want, but trust Him to give you what you need.” My mom knows my natural instinct is to be the peacemaker, stay quiet, deal with things myself, and make sure everyone else is taken care of. I am self-sacrificial to a fault. My mom has taught me that it’s okay to humbly voice my opinion and to trust God with my dream.

What is the worst piece of clothing she dressed you in?
A – Well, growing up in the 90’s meant Easter was a time for white dresses with really terrible socks and black shoes. Oh, those were probably the worst outfits in the world! Also, I always had a hat. Well, maybe not always, but the one Easter I remember vividly I had a hat. The poor 90’s…
C – There was this dress. It looked like really bad curtains that had been re-purposed with the sole intent of making me look like a grungy couch you would find in your great aunt’s sitting room. It also had a white doily/bib-looking thing on the front of it—it was atrocious. But she didn’t stop there. She also thought making me wear little socks with frills was a good idea as well. At the time, I just thought it was cruel.
K – I don’t know if there is one thing that would be the worst. Maybe more like a collection of everything. I remember a sailor outfit… Why you would need to dress your already adorable toddler as a sailor – I’ll never know. I’m sure it was fashionable back then in the early 90s (or I hope it was…), so I guess I’ll just have to trust that everyone else was dressing their children in equally as hideous clothing.

What is one quality in your mom that you wish to emulate? One you don’t like?
A – Her patience. My mother is so patient and I am so not. She can drive anywhere and not get angry at anyone. My road rage, on the other hand, is embarrassing. She’s so patient with people, too; it’s what draws them to her. I hope one day to love people like she does, but also to be able to be patient with them and not expect them to work like I do.
One I don’t like? I honestly can’t think of one. Not because my mom is perfect, but because she’s really following after God with her whole heart and what’s not to like about that?
C – There are a lot. But for where I am in life right now, I would like to have her patience. She has raised 7 children without giving any of us away (permanently-sleepover’s at friends’ houses were welcomed with open arms). She also home-schooled all of us until we reached high school, coached many of our sports teams over the years, and has sat through countless hours of practices, games, tournaments and awards ceremonies. And she did all of that with a smile and willing spirit.
One I don’t like? Hmmm. The correct answer is “there aren’t” right? Haha but if I HAD to come up with something it would probably be her willingness to help with anything. She’s so generous with her time and energy that she is constantly doing things for other people. Now don’t get me wrong, I would love to be more like her in this area too, but it just makes me tired thinking about all the stuff she does.
K – Two qualities that my mom possesses that I want to have are her work ethic and motivation. Last year, she graduated with her masters while working a full time job, serving in church, and raising a family – AND SHE GRADUATED WITH HONORS. She’s a genius. Another quality I love is the way she can say anything to people. She can say things that others could not get away with. She’s the most genuine person I know and connects with people so quickly and so easily. I want people to be able to open up to me and trust me the way people trust her.
The right answer would be “none,” BUT, if I’m being honest… Qualities I don’t want would be her dance moves, sense of direction, driving, and backseat driving (AKA her passenger seat yelling).

How often, if at all, do you catch yourself sounding like your mom?
A – All the time. My mom was always worried about us. In a mom sort of way, not an overprotective, weird, worried about us kind of way. But the way she would make sure we were okay before we left the house or did something slightly dangerous was by saying, “Watch your toes.” That was her code for “Be safe.” I say it ALL THE TIME NOW. It has become somewhat of an inside joke with my family now, but I will always remember to watch my toes.
C – I’ve caught myself a few times, but not a lot yet. It’s usually when I’m reacting to some absurd thing that Austin has just said or when I’m meeting new people and being super polite. Sometimes when I sing, I actually hear my voice sound like hers. I actually like it when I do sound like my mom, because I don’t get to see her all that much anymore and it makes me happy that I’m at least a little bit like her.
K – Only recently have I noticed myself sounding more like my mom. Maybe I’ve always sounded like her, but it’s only been a couple years where I’ve caught myself doing it. And not just the things I say, but the way I say them, facial expressions, inflections, and sometimes even how I talk with my hands just like she would.

What is one thing your mom taught you that you wish she could teach everyone else?
A – To stop talking and listen. My mom is a great listener and she always made sure she would listen to us (even when we were being ridiculous). She always taught us to just stop and listen to what the other person was saying. I’ve noticed how important that really is through all of my relationships.
C – How to be nice to people you don’t like. Just because you don’t appreciate what a certain person has to offer in this life, doesn’t mean that you are allowed to treat them with disrespect. Jesus died for them and loves them just as much as he loves you—so your actions should reflect that even if just being near them makes you want to punch something.
K – I love that my mom taught me that they were my parents – not my friends. My mom and dad made it clear that later on the boundaries would change a little and we’d become more comfortable, but until then they were parents, so I needed to treat them that way. Another thing she taught me that I think other people need to learn is, “I’m a THIS; not a THAT.” I still remember my mom telling me this the first time and it’s one of the most important things I’ve learned. So simple and so true. I’m pretty glad my mom is MY mom.

At what age did you realize that your mom actually WAS cool?
A – Well, I had always hoped she was cool since I’m so much like her, but in all honesty, probably not until I was older. Around high school and the 1st year of college is when I was like, shoot, my mom is awesome. Now that I’m older, I’m really starting to get to know my mom as a person outside of being a mom. It’s neat. She’s a pretty cool cat.
C – The age when she stopped making me wear hideous dresses and taught me to do the cool spinny thing with the basketball, so 11 I think. From that point I think I always knew she was cooler than the other moms, but I just didn’t know how cool until I left for college and had to do life 500 miles away from her.
K – Honestly, I think I realized this pretty early on. I used to tell people, “My parents are actually really cool, but I can’t tell them or it will go to their heads.” But when I turned 20 I definitely realized it in a whole new way. She’s the best.

photome and mom

IMG_2962Happy Mother’s Day!
– A, C, & K

