Skin Deep?

Hello world!

Yes, it has been a very long time since you have heard from the three of us. We’re sorry and one day we’ll get around to explaining ourselves and why we were gone. But this is not the time for that.

Right now I am going to share something that has been on my mind for the past few days.

I think every girl should get a facial.
Yes. You read that right. A facial.

Here’s why: I got my 1st facial ever the other day. I found a Groupon and I bought it because my soon to be mother-in-law told me I should get a facial before the wedding. I went to this cute little salon and had a wonderful time. The entire time I just kept thinking how good my skin was going to look and how amazing it all was. I paid the lady and left.

When I got in the car, I saw all these red dots all over my face from where she “extracted” my zits. Suddenly, I felt so self conscious. I had thought getting a facial was going to make my face and skin flawless. I basically expected it to be magic. I thought I would leave and suddenly have wonderful skin. Needless to say I was upset, but I told everyone how it was worse before it was going to get better and how happy I was with it.

Today is 2 days after my facial and I am a changed woman. I went through a huge self discovery moment. I decided I wouldn’t wear makeup for a few days afterwards and follow the routine the facial lady told me to. I drank more water and I cleaned my face with what she told me use. My skin has never looked better. I am so stinkin’ excited. I have so much more self confidence. But the key wasn’t to just wash my face or drink water, I also did some work under my skin.

I prayed about why just having a few red dots on my face had crushed me as much as it did. Why did it matter that I had some “agitated sweat glands” or that my nose is covered in blackheads? Why did it hurt so much to finally come face to face with myself?

We as women are always trying to convince ourselves that we are fine. “Oh, my hair won’t do what I want it to do ever, that’s okay, I’m fine.” “My chin is breaking out again today, that’s fine.” NO. It’s not fine. It sucks. You’re allowed to be upset over a pimple, but make sure it’s just the pimple you’re upset about. Take a step back and make sure you’re not really upset because you think you’re not pretty enough. Make sure you’re not comparing yourself to that other girl who always seems to have wonderful skin.

Now, I understand that this is an extremely difficult subject and self worth comes from a lot more than how we look. But this is more of a reminder to just stop and take a step back. Remind yourself of all the good in you. Hate that pimple, but don’t hate yourself. And while you’re at it, go get a facial. Give it a few days and see the results. I am so glad I did.

– A

