Cheers to 10 Years!

This week marks 10 years since the Chalfant family arrived in Virginia Beach. We showed up knowing we were called to Wave Church and not knowing much else…

IMG_7456

These 10 years have been filled with more growth, patience, frustration, grace, and provision than I ever thought possible. There’s no way I should be where I am now and be doing what I get to do. If there’s one thing that’s been drilled into me more than anything else throughout these 10 years, it’s that His grace really is sufficient.

IMG_5711

When we got to VB, I was scared to death to start at a new school, I was learning to love Jesus for me and not just because of my parents, and I had no idea who I was, what I wanted to do, or who I wanted to be. I was about to turn 13 and I had been crippled by fear since I was really little.

Now here I am, about to turn 23 and it can only be by God’s grace that I’m here and so in love with Jesus. His plans for me are still unfolding, but now it’s exciting instead of terrifying. Overcoming fear was no easy task, but it’s a victory I’m really proud of. That’s not to say I don’t still get scared or worried, but the timid Kylie who shrank back and hid from everything and everyone is gone for good.

IMG_5707

The best part of these 10 years, hands down, is my family. My parents and sisters are the strongest, most faithful, most loyal, most hilarious people I know. Watching my family stick it out when friends and jobs and plans were not going the way they wanted is the best example I could have ever had.

hp photosmart 720

Ad and Belle, thank you for putting up with me when I was mean. Thank you for being funny all the time and keeping all of us laughing. Thank you for believing in me and supporting me. Thank you for being my best friends at the end of the day. Thank you for teaching me and being an example for me to look up to. Thank you for being honest. Thank you for not giving up on me.

Mom and Dad, thank you for showing me what faithfulness looks like. Thank you for being my parents before trying to be my friends. Thank you for always pushing me to be better. Thank you for making these 10 years a really fun adventure. Thank you for loving each other and for loving us. Thank you for loving Jesus and His church. Thank you for being yourselves in every single season.

IMG_5713

10 years down and we’re only getting started.

– K

